Nokia Lumia 900 Echo Problem

I’ve had several Nokia Lumia 900’s, most of which I’ve never had a problem with. However, one of the phones exhibits an annoying problem where callers hear themselves when calling me. The problem wasn’t noticeable on my end, but my callers sure let me know how annoying it was on theirs.

After some research, I learned that the issue is related to the noise-canceling microphone on the device and reducing the call volume to 5-6 resolves the issue. But keeping the volume at this level isn’t trivial and defeats the purpose of having a call volume control in the first place. Nokia doesn’t provide much help on their support site, suggesting that level 5 is “optimal.”  It’s interesting that the problem only affects some Lumia 900 devices.

To resolve the echo problem, I covered the noise-canceling microphone located on the top left of the device with a small piece of scotch tape, essentially disabling it.

l900

The noise-canceling microphone is designed to filter out ambient noise, which is especially useful in noisy environments.  I suspect that covering the mic may impact the phone’s performance when used in noisy rooms. However, I haven’t noticed any undesirable side effects and the overall call quality is dramatically improved for my callers — whether I’m in an empty room or Grand Central.

9 Responses to “Nokia Lumia 900 Echo Problem”

  1. Sunny Says:

    Is there any solutions where i can keep my volume to 10 and no echo problems bco’z its quiet hard to put my call volume at 5 and speak please help

  2. rickliev Says:

    As the post states, “To resolve the echo problem, I covered the noise-canceling microphone located on the top left of the device with a small piece of scotch tape, essentially disabling it.” I am able to blast the volume to 10 without any echo issues now.

  3. sunny Says:

    Hi Rickliev ,

    I have tried but no use 😦

  4. rickliev Says:

    Sorry Sunny… Check with AT&T and see if they have any other suggestions. Also ensure that your phone has all the latest updates (plug into PC with USB and run the Zune software).

  5. Louis Says:

    IT WORKS PERFECT!!! THANKS A LOT, I was getting crazy with it… thanks very much…

  6. Ozgun Says:

    Hey i was experiecing the same one. I found a solution that filling the noise-reduction mic’s hole on the top of the phone with some cotton and pushing it inside. well, it does not work so perfectly, sometimes it does sometimes not.

    my question is that do you apply scotch tape on the hole of mic over the case directly, or do you disassemble the cover and apply it just directly on the mic inside the phone?

  7. bulent Says:

    Thanx a lot , I would just throw it away…

  8. Maani Says:

    thank you, its working however its a good phone

Leave a Reply

